Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1

    To string utility wire or not?

    Has anyone else struggled with whether or not to string the power and telephone wires on your utility poles? I've seen some photos that look great, but I'm concerned about things getting tangled, the wire getting in the way and other things I haven't even thought of. What's been the experience around here? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Union City, California, United States
    Age
    59
    Posts
    2,706
    Put a small fly on each post, and see if the spiders will string between them :tb-biggrin:

    Nope, not gonna happen on my layout (I also have a dearth of utility poles, so folks won't ask)
    Thanks,

    Rick Brodzinsky

    the JACALAR thread on TrainBoard


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Icard, NC
    Age
    57
    Posts
    1,058
    Berkshire Junction has a product called EZ-line that is proving to be a very valuable way of stringing wire, especially so in that it remains flexible so that there is no damage in case the wires are accidentally touched.
    http://www.berkshirejunction.com/scenery.htm
    jerry

    PROUD FATHER OF A MILITARY MAN!!!

    Passenger Car Photo Index HUGE UPDATE... UPDATED 11/16/14 WITH OVER 8,974 NEW LINKS ADDED!
    N-scale Varnish Passenger Car User's Guide The right car for the right Road.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Falls Church,Va
    Age
    69
    Posts
    4,558
    How modern is your era being modeled? A lot of utilities get buried today, and instead of poles you have those gray or green transformers on pads, and smaller versions here and there. If you have to use poles along the track mount them to the side of the track opposite the edge of the layout. That way you can reach a derailed car without having to reach over the wires or poles.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Age
    69
    Posts
    13,606
    Don't do it! IMHO, of course. It is just something in the way to be broken off the first time you clean track or re-rail a car.

    But...I would pick a good place to take pictures and string some only in that location. It does look nice. I do recommend EZ Line for that and a lot of other things like guy-wire.

    Kitbashers...UNITE!
    Please support Trainboard's advertisers. Order from a banner add today!
    Visit My RailImages Album

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Mississippi Gulf Coast, USA
    Age
    79
    Posts
    8,146
    I use Berkshire EZ-Line, Fine for in town, and Heavy for transmission from the power plant to the substation. The photos are indistinct, but show the lines if you look closely.

    BTW, EZ-Line stretches over 100% without breaking, then returns quickly to its original shape. The Heavy line in the photo crosses in front of the house interior power panel, but isn't harmed when the panel door is opened to access the circuit breakers because of stretching.



    Hank....I may have to Grow Old, but I Never have to Grow UP!!!


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    593
    I've seen EZ Line in use. It does make quite a difference to how the layout looks but it isn't going to happen on mine.

    Regards,

    Pete Davies

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,096
    Blog Entries
    1
    Unless you can get the natural droop, I wouldn't bother.

  9. #9
    How modern is your era being modeled?

    The very late 50's, on one half, and the early 80's on the other. I'm doing sort of a split scene. However, the rolling stock and lines will always be B&O and friends up to the late 50's.

    Thanks for the input all! Both sides made sense! I'll have to see how things go as I move along. I like the idea of having one little area for photos that have lines.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    In the mitten
    Posts
    404
    Besides being able to reach the track easily, its a corss that line (no pun intended) thing. "I did it here, but those poles look funny without wires over there..."

    Also struggled with the natural droop thing too. Great point mcJaco. "How do I capture that look", I have wondered.

    Its kinda like the "do I put in the fence wires?" dilemma. For now, I am happy to "see them in my mind". Maybe someday...

Similar Threads

  1. Utility line stringing tool
    By gary60s in forum N Scale
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: December 12th, 2009, 02:34 AM
  2. Utility poles, how far apart?
    By SPsteam in forum N Scale
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: January 2nd, 2009, 05:13 AM
  3. Pesky utility meters
    By phantom in forum The Inspection Pit
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: November 27th, 2008, 04:15 PM
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: October 26th, 2007, 04:18 AM
  5. freeware scale conversion utility
    By Danimal in forum The Inspection Pit
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 5th, 2000, 05:05 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •